Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

eric_sun

after adding a light everything is green

eric_sun    122
hi there, im new in dx9 programming, so i have a stupid question i have a scene with flying planets, after adding a point light, everything is green!? so i think my direct3d settings are wrong... this are my current settings. i have a geforce4 mx440. i also have examples with light, so i know my card can do it... PresentParams.BackBufferWidth = 640; PresentParams.BackBufferHeight = 480; PresentParams.BackBufferFormat = D3DFMT_X8R8G8B8; PresentParams.BackBufferCount = 1; PresentParams.MultiSampleType = D3DMULTISAMPLE_NONE; PresentParams.SwapEffect = D3DSWAPEFFECT_DISCARD; PresentParams.hDeviceWindow = hWindow; PresentParams.Windowed = TRUE; PresentParams.EnableAutoDepthStencil = TRUE; PresentParams.AutoDepthStencilFormat = D3DFMT_D24X8; PresentParams.Flags = D3DPRESENTFLAG_DISCARD_DEPTHSTENCIL; PresentParams.FullScreen_RefreshRateInHz = D3DPRESENT_RATE_DEFAULT; PresentParams.PresentationInterval = D3DPRESENT_INTERVAL_DEFAULT; if(FAILED(m_pD3D->CreateDevice(D3DADAPTER_DEFAULT, D3DDEVTYPE_HAL, hWindow, D3DCREATE_HARDWARE_VERTEXPROCESSING, &PresentParams, &m_pD3DDevice))) { return FALSE; } can anyone help me? maze

JoeyBlow2    100
You didn''t provide any information about the lights or materials (please do so)

But to answer your question, you need to make sure the material properties are all white, then setup the light as the color you desire.

If you haven''t set any of this, its likely that DirectX (or whatever was in that memory location at the time) defaulted it to green.

eric_sun    122
thats the light
ZeroMemory(&PointLight, sizeof(D3DLIGHT9));
PointLight.Type = D3DLIGHT_POINT;PointLight.Diffuse = seColor(1.0f, 1.0f, 0.75f);
PointLight.Ambient = seColor(1.0f, 1.0f, 0.75f);
PointLight.Position = g_aPlanet[0].vPosition;
PointLight.Range = 1000.0f;
PointLight.Attenuation0 = 1.0f;
PointLight.Attenuation1 = 0.0f;