Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Terminus

Camera setup in a first person game

Terminus    122
Hi, I''m sure this question has been asked a thousand times before, but after a bit of searching I can''t seem to find a topic that exactly answers my question, so I decided to make a new topic. I am a Beginner-Intermediate programmer making a simple first person shooter. I''m having problems figuring out how to make my camera follow the crosshair. I''m using OpenGL, and gluLookAt() to setup the camera. Basically my problem is that when the user presses the ''D'' button, I want the camera to rotate to the right, and the reverse for the ''A'' button. How do I get my lookX, lookY, and lookZ coordinates to go to the right places? All I can think of is to set up a virtual sphere around the camera and have my lookX, Y, and Z coords be confined to the sphere''s surface. Then, when I press the key to turn right, I could have the camera move 1 degree right along the sphere (as an example), and have a function automatically calculate the look-at coords based on what part of the sphere I''m facing. The only thing is that I have no idea how to implement that. So if anyone has a clue what I''m talking about could you give me a hand? I could be completely wrong about the sphere thing and there''s probably a much better way to do it, so if you know of one let me know. Thanks a lot! Oh, and yes I know I could just rotate the camera using glRotatef(), but I''d rather not get into that and stick to gluLookAt() if at all possible.

__fold    202