Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dynamicman

pool balls

As a small note, I am very new to this "physics" stuff. This is more of a question regarding architecture though.. I am playing pool and lets say I am breaking. This will result in a sort of domino effect (one ball hits another, but hits another.. then hits another..etc). The moving object (the cue ball) will exert a force on a set of ball(s) (on first contact). callback system: When a ball is hit, we call a callback function for the "hit" ball, tell it what force is acting on it and let it decide what to do. This is done recursively to calculate the new positions of each ball as one ball hits another (domino effect). 1) are there any drawback to this method? 2) Something that I am not aware of (eg. is it that strait forward)? 3) Are there other methods for solving this sort of problem? correct me if I''m wrong.. but this goes under rigid body linear physics correct?

I guess a followup delema is how an actual physics engine will handle this sort of task? I''ve seen in many articles/books the following:

while(game not done){
-grab input
-update new positions
-handle physics
-render
}

But this does not seem to be an effective way of handling physics. Physics is not a step on its own, but integrated into the "update new positions" step am I not right?

eg. you do not update your physics.. you handle them as part of your position updates.

Doing them in separate steps is not a perfect approach, but often it''s good enough. I did my physics code that way. The point is that you have a very tiny change in time between each frame, and update your world in tiny steps. Correct me if I am wrong, but that is even a "real" mathematical method called Euler integration.

About that recursive callback thing, it probably will work, but be sure that you don''t get infinite loops. (Ball 1 hits ball 2, ball 2 hits ball 3, ball 3 hits ball X and ball X hits ball 1.)