Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Outcast

Any reason to not use D3DX?

Outcast    122
I remember when this came out (DX7??) there seemed to be some resistance to using these utility functions. Was their any reason for this? In DX9, is there still the distinction between immediate mode and retained mode (I believe those were the two modes). I''m learning right now, but some of the tutorials I''m using are based off of DX8, and I am trying to update the code as I go. SpaceCowboy

Shock    140
Well, im also very new to direct3d atm, learning tho. So far ive only seen one thing wrong with using D3DX. I once used D3DXCreateTextureFromFileEx() and my .exe swelled up pretty big.
From 200k it went to 1.6mb :\ by using the function.

I havent had a chance to see how useful it could be, but that''s the only bad thing iv''e picked up so far. Well not bad, im not sure :\ Just dont like my .exe going so big for using one function. I guess maybe it included code for interpreting all its supported image file formats? No idea.

Shock

RhoneRanger    100
quote:
Original post by Shock
I once used D3DXCreateTextureFromFileEx() and my .exe swelled up pretty big.
From 200k it went to 1.6mb :\ by using the function.

So all you changes was 1 function, and your program went up to 1.6 meg? *cough*

Anyway, with dx8 and 9 there is no more "immediate" and "retained" modes.

There is nothing wrong with d3dx, unless you want to be cross platform. It will be hard to gain performance by writing your own functions, but there are ways.

The resistance was a group of programmers creating the D3DX Library allowed people to not learn about vector and matrix math, but it still is a great lib.

Good luck to you Outcast!

Doolwind    213
Please guys, try to only post things that you know are true, and if you are unsure don''t state it as fact.