Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

dr_slash_uh

Visual Basic vs C#

I am a pretty good programmer with visual c++. My problem is it takes way to long to make a GUI with c++ compared to VIsual Basic. I never used visual basic but I watched my firend make a gui so fast in less than 5 minutes, while it would take me an hour or so to do the same thing with Visual C. Would one of you all recommend me to learn visual basic or the new C#. I always make fun of my friend because I have more control over my programs, yet he completes his programs MUCH faster. I wanted to know if C# can compete with visual basic on gui building and is it as fast as c++ with directx games.

I''ve been using VB for years. I started real coding with VB. I can do almost anything possible with VB (databases excepted, I hate those suckers).

I discovered C# a couple months ago. It''s like VB, but with many more advantages and (nearly) all the disadvantages removed. I am slowly working my way learning it, some day to replace VB entirely. The interface designer is mroe powerful than even VB''s. (in VS.NET and C# Builder, anyway).

C# is better than VB at GUI building. It loses some speed compared with C++ (10%-20% average is what I''ve heard) but is way faster than VB. Basically, when you need that fine control but not so much interface, use C++, and when you need a really nice interface and speed/low level control aren''t that big a deal, use C#.

Is there anyway to intergrate c++ in visual basic or c++ in c## simliar to how inline assembly works. ex

cout<<"this";
cout<<"that";
asm {
mov ax, bx
}
cout<<"some more this and that";

Visual Basic in C#? No, AFAIK.

C++ in C#? Just write it. In most cases it will be fine. There''s some weird stuff with pointers and managed code and stuff, but I haven''t looked at it too throughly. But in short, yes, without any special syntax at all.