Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Iwod

Java 1.5 Game programming

I am a non pro programmer compare to a lot of you in here. I do a bit of C / C++ / Java. And i am wondering what are your thoughts generaly on Java 1.5 with its new ablity and features. And its potential using it as game programming. ( i am not saying it currently can''t be done. it is just the fact that Sun doesn''t seems to care much about using java to program games )

Time for my Java advocacy

I''m not actually using Java for games atm, but I know others who are. The only thing 1.5 adds that is really needed (that I''ve seen so far) is access to a high res timer. Other than that, 1.4 is suitable for games right now without the parameterized types and whatever else is in the pipe for 1.5 (although I''m sure there will be even more improvements in the HotSpot compiler by then).

The thing that''s stopping me from going Java right now is distribution. I want to get shareware titles distributed on the net, and the currently there are issues with making sure the customer has the JRE. There are various solutions (including compiling to a native executable format, but that raises even more issues). Several folks are forging ahead already.

Check out:
YoHoHo! Puzzle Pirates (a really neat game!) - they have chosen to include the JRE in the client download.
Alien Flux - Puppy Games has experimented with different method of distribution for this game (native exe, WebStart)

Other games to check out through Google would be Wurm Online, Magicosm, and Tribal Trouble.