Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

KuroKage

How important are grades in getting into the industry?

KuroKage    103
Hi, First, I really would like to apologize for making this post so long and I hope that you''ll bear with me in this. Thanks. I asked is this question cause it''s really bothering me. I''m already graduating college next year and I just started studying game development last May 2003. Now this''s what really hurt. As I was starting to seriously get into the requisites of game development, I noticed that every bit of subject that I had taken in my entire Computer Science class were all relevant to game development (especially maths), but my problem is, my grades aren''t really that impressive. To be honest, my only impressive grades were that of my programming classes starting from Program Logic Formulation, Algorithms, PASCAL, Visual Basic, and C (we didn''t have C++, I studied that through books). My Math grades are just average and other minor subjects were like crap. As for myself, I don''t consider myself intelligent(It even took me three and a half months just to finish Tricks 1 by Lamothe when someone else can do it for about a week! UNBELIEVABLE!!) and I don''t have talent either, but what I do have is perseverance. What I really like, I would surely do even if it''ll take some time(just like in Tricks). And I''m not boastful either. I really want people teaching me and I don''t consider myself better than them. In short, I always have the desire to learn. Since I can''t turn back time to improve all my sucking grades, what will then make me one of those people listed in the game''s credits. Will a good demo of games compensate for all my non-impressive grades? I hope you guys will really help me with this. Again, Sorry for the very long post and THANKS A LOT IN ADVANCE.

Guest Anonymous Poster   
Guest Anonymous Poster