Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

The unProfessional

Bit of a Linear Algebra question

I have a rather embarassing linear algebra question to ask. I always considered this trivial and am rather confused why I''m having any trouble with it whatsoever. But, I figure what better place to embarass myself than with a bunch of other developers, right? Let''s just say the object in question is at 500,250,650 in world space, with some arbitrary rotation applied to it. I''m concatinating a translation matrix (0.0, 3.0, 0.0) representing the position, in body space, of a subobject. Now from what I knew, the first matrix shifts the frame of reference to that of the object, where contacinations to that matrix would act as additional shifts. Here''s some comments on the process. // Build translation/rotation matrix for the "Tank" // Apply this matrix (matRot * matShift = matTank) // Draw the "Tank" // Calculate a translation matrix, in body space, for the "Tank''s Turret", 3 units +y // Apply this: matTank * matTurret // Render "Turret" Now it seems to me that the turret should be rotating and translating WITH the main object, about the same axis. But, it appears as though the concatination of the second matrix also throws off the rotation, meaning the turret is rotating about a slightly different axis than the tank object. What can I do to fix this? Thanks alot!

"meaning the turret is rotating about a slightly different axis than the tank object."

Here is the problem (very common). You need to know where your "joint" is for both objects.