Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Help with rpg beginning!!

This topic is 5153 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hey im new to this forum and im also new to C++.. but anyways, i just want to create something simple, not too hard.. its going to be an rpg BEGINNING... not the whole game.. anyways, ive got my code, and it compiles ok for a regular text rpg, but somethings wrong in it.. heres the code: /* 01 Main.cpp */ #include <iostream> main (void) { /* Variable declarations */ unsigned char Age; long StartEnergy; char CharacterType; /* Get the Information */ std::cout << "What is your character''s age?: "; std::cin >> Age; std::cout << "How much start energy?: "; std::cin >> StartEnergy; std::cout << "What is your character type?: "; std::cin >> CharacterType; /* Show the Information */ std::cout << "Your character is " << Age << " years old." << std::endl; std::cout << "Has " << StartEnergy << " of starting energy." << std::endl; std::cout << "And its type is " << CharacterType << "." << std::endl; return 0; } ok when i compile it, it opens up the command prompt ok, but the line "What is your character type?" appears on the same line as "ow much start energy?"... i dont want this to happen, each thing is supposed to appear on different lines.. another thing i was curious about is after you answer the last question, the program closes out immediately... is there any way i can keep the window open until the USER decides to close it?

"\nHow much start energy?: ";

or
cout << endl << "How much"...

endl and "\n" are for a newline

Hope this helps,
Lord Hen

"I am free of all prejudices. I hate everyone equally." - W. C. Fields

[edited by - Lord Hen on December 2, 2008 2:32:49 AM]

Guest Anonymous Poster
Poor newbs. Just kidding bro. Try adding something like:

cout << "What is your age?: ";