• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

MasterInsan0

Newbie problem that I just can't solve

This topic is 5512 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

As part of a project in a computer class I am taking (EAST Lab), I am programming a math calculation program to do useful mathematical calculations for a teacher or student. This is not the final version, just a DOS-console prototype. However, I have run into a problem I''ve never come across before. I am relatively new to coding, and although I know a bit about it, I''m still failing pretty badly in a few spots, apparently. The problem I''m having comes in the averaging function. I can average integers, but it will not give me a decimal, so I tried changing the ints to floats instead. This is really just a shot in the dark...I''ve never done this before. Anyway, I seem to be having a very ugly problem that is giving me 4 errors, every time I try to compile. Here''s the function: int AverageNums() { float fNumstoAvg = 0.0f; float i = 1.0f; system("cls"); cout << "Average -- Average some numbers."; cout << "\n\nHow many numbers would you like to average? "; cin >> fNumstoAvg; if (fNumstoAvg > 255.0f) { cout << "\nYou cannot average any more numbers than 255.\n\n"; system("cls"); return 0; } cout << "\n\n"; float fNumsIAvg[255]; for (i=1.0f;i <= fNumstoAvg; i++) { cout << "What is number " << i << "? "; cin >> fNumsIAvg; } // end for float fSum = 0.0f; for (i=1.0f;i <= fNumstoAvg; i++) { fSum = fSum + fNumsIAvg[i]; } float fAveraged = 0.0f; fAveraged = fSum / fNumstoAvg; cout << "\n\n"; cout << "Averaged together, the total is " << fAveraged << ".\n\n"; system("pause"); system("cls"); return 0; } I am aware of a couple of stupid mess-ups, such as having an int function return 0 for no apparent reason, when I could just make it a void fun