• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

owl

Is Vertex Buffer extension "much more" faster than Display Lists?

This topic is 5422 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Well, I started learning OpenGL again after a few months of being stand by, and until now I''m using only display lists. I''m following the nehe tutorials, and they seem to use this method only. I was wondering if it is worth to expend the next weeks learning extensions and (if it is supported by my video card) vertex buffers in particular. I''m currently working on a TNT2 (!!), and the performance I get is quite poor. (my fault, many OGL games run quite well) For example, if I create a Display List for drawing a cube and I call this Display List 100 times from a FOR loop (without textures, without lights), my FPS drops down like 70%. I guess this is not the best performnce test one can do. But, for the moment, I couldn''t come up with something better. I''m using SDL to initialize the video mode etc. Wich method you use to draw your stuff in OpenGL? I''m pretty clueless about OpenGL and I think it would be cool if some of you could discuss something about the subject. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
I doubt you have the VBO extension on a TNT2, since it doesn''t perform geometry calculations on the card. If you do have it, it''s emulated anyway, so you won''t see any benefit over standard vertex arrays.

You might want to try vertex arrays though. I almost always find indexed VAs are faster than display lists. You could even combine the two, although you won''t get much benefit.

The method I use is a general purpose Vertex Array class which uses VBO if available or falls back to vertex arrays otherwise. Since VBO uses the existing vertex arrays commands, this is relatively easy to do.