Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

a few beginner, but important, questions

This topic is 5144 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Greetings, I am brand new to the game programming world, and thus would love the opinions of those who have been here before me. 1. In terms of speed, usability, and just downright the best for the job, is C or C++ going to be more for a large scale and very detailed game? I know It''s a matter of opinion, but I hear good and bad things and would like a rundown of the cons and pros of each (the one on this site just didn''t do it for me). 2. OpenGL or DirectX 9? I''m not looking for cross platform ability because I don''t see Linux handling the graphics in my lifetime, and thus I see it staying on Windows with a possible port later to Mac. OpenGL reminds me of slightly choppy Quake 2 while DirectX reminds me of morrowind, homeworld, etc. I can''t find anything that offers a good honest insight to what does what and why. This also may help decide origonal programming language, as most directX documentation (From what I have heard) is C++ based. 3. How do you get a project started? I''m sitting down and there seems to be so much I need to plan out and research before getting to the coding part. Anyone have any tips or ideas about where to start? Maybe a game plan from someone who has programmed an entire game before so I have a idea of what to work with? Thank you for your time and patience with me, regards, Battlefield Tactics "There may come a time when ours swords must be thrown to the ground in defeat. There may come a time when the world as we know it sings no more songs of happiness. But today is not that day! For today, let them never forget the spirit of mankind and the courage within our hearts!" -- myself