Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

shurcool

Anyone proficient at Flash MX?

Hey guys, Sorry about posting this in here, but I don't really know any good Macromedia Flash forums, and it is a game I'm making. I'm mostly self-taught in Flash (reading tutorials, help files, experimenting, etc.), because the course I took in last year in high-school was very basic. I'm making another game in Flash, and this time I need a more object oriented approach. Suppose I'm making an airplane game. My object would be a Plane (a movie clip). Inside, it contains all the information about itself, such as its coordinates and direction (_x, _y, _rotation), as well as some other things (such as bHumanController, when true, it uses keyboard for input, else its AI code that controls the flight). So here's what the inside of my Plane movie clip looks like.
var fX = _x;
var fY = _y;
var fSpeed = 0.0;
var nAngle = _rotation;
var bMaxSpeed = false;
var bHumanController = false;

onEnterFrame = function()
{
	if (bHumanController) {
		// User input
	} else {
		// Bot AI
	}

// Simple 2D flight physics, etc.
} 
So I have my main scene, suppose it's _root. I want to create a couple of airplanes, and initialize their properties. So I set the Plane movie clip's linkage identifier to "Plane", and go like this in _root:
// Create my first Plane object, which will be centered and will be controlled by a human
attachMovie("Plane", "Plane0", 0);
Plane0._x = 320;
Plane0._y = 360;
Plane0.bHumanController = true;

// Create the 2nd Plane object, this time it's located in top right corner and is controlled by AI
attachMovie("Plane", "Plane1", 1);
Plane1._x = 560;
Plane1._y = 220;
Plane1.bHumanController = false;	// Unnecessary, since it's already false by default