Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mass data storage

This topic is 5132 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

what type of data storgae is best to store 400 people, with 20 attributes each - i was thinking mayb linked lists but undecided - im still pretty new to c++ so bear with. thanks for ur help in advance

A database should be the perfect choice, but if you mean c++, std::vector ... stored is a class or struct definition of the people... that should do it.

Depending of course on whether it will be accessed in a random or linear fashion - I believe lists are more appropriate for linear accesses, and vectors for more random accesses?

"Absorb what is useful, reject what is useless, and add what is specifically your own." - Lee Jun Fan

Guest Anonymous Poster
lists aren''t any better than vectors (arrays) for linear access. in fact the extra level of indirection needed makes them less efficient for such a purpose. they are however, better for insertions and deletions as the reordering required only affects one node, whereas with vectors the worst case impact is to require reshuffling of the entire array.

Daz_mk, there are many different types of data structures, a few of which are included in C++''s std namespace. and as with any type of data use, what you do to/with the data is as important as what the data is. in many cases what you do to/with the data will be the deciding factor as to what data structure is appropriate.

so what do you intend to do to/with this data? it could be that std::map is more appropriate for instance, if you wished to store/use relations between the people or the people''s attributes, but it really all depends upon what you want to do to/with the data.