Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

It feels so... cheap

This topic is 5126 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Alright, first let me explain some background info. I was a C++ programmer, and I tired of making console applications. I gave my hand at Win32, but it was over my head. I decided, ultimately, to learn C#. Well, Ive been screwing around with it for a while, but I got stuck on delegates and events. I understand delegates just barely, but I dont understand how events are fired and how delegates work with events at all. Well, while I was reading yet another tutorial about delegates and events, I read a line something like this: "although with C#''s application design you dont need delegates and events, it helps to know how it works under the hood". Well, with my VB background, when I first got C# I automatically tried using those tools. I dragged my controls on there and added some code, but it said some mumbo jumbo about not having an entry point. Well, since working with events showed me the wonderful workings of Application.Run(new Form1), I decided to give another go. Well, I basically made a window with a command button, a textbox and a label, and have the label repeat what was typed into the textbox when the button was pushed. It worked just like I thought it would, and now Im contemplating: I can now make windows applications with GUIs and all that good stuff, but it just seems hollow. Im sure it gets more complicated as I make larger applications, but drag and drop... how hard can it be? There isnt really any point to this post. I thought there would be some magic to writing code and designed GUIs with words, but now I dont even really have to do that. I guess Im just disappointed that it is so easy, even though what I wanted to learn keeps going over my head. Its a vicious circ