Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

It's ALL down hill with C++ from there! CRUD.

This topic is 5106 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, maybe some of you can give me a bit of direction here. I'm working on a computer science major here, and since I am going for gaming, I am studying C++ by myself. I've bought over 5 quite good books on the matter, and am currently on just the basic C++ one. It's a Sams book of course which I consider to be good and bad at the same time. Teach yourself C++ in 24 hours, and it was quite good till chapter 8 and beyond :/ Then things went bad. After the basics, it attempted to show all sorts of uses for pointers, pointers to classes, copy constructors by use of pointers, references, more stuff that is poorly explained, and then more on top of that. Anyway, I'm almost completely lost, and only absorbed maybe half of it. The next book I'm looking at going towards is the Sams game programming book, however by looking at the book, and the fact it starts on windows API's, I really need to understand what on earth this C++ book is talking about half the time. It seems from the jump from this book to the next, this is quite a massive hurdle to get over. Not that anything like that would stop me, but it is slowing me down that is for sure :/ Maybe some of you have worked with this book (C++ in 24 hours) that I'm talking about? I'm taking an object oriented Java class for my major next semester, wondering if that will explain these concepts easier and what the heck they are even for as well, since C++ has some strong similarities to Java. So, what do you guys recomend? Anyone gone through this same problem with this book? Maybe you know a good site that runs through these concepts in a better explained way? Thanks for any help you might provide [edited by - Emonious o