Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GFX in VB question from a newbie

This topic is 6360 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am relatively new to VB and am only working in VB 4.0 My question is that I do not have any idea how to draw bitmaps to the screen in a way that I can use masking. I am looking for a way to put the images on screen without using picturebox or other controls, just straight drawing to the screen. The method must not use DirectX, and should (hopefully) be relatively easy to grasp. Failing this, how can I use VB to do a simple putpixel, I can build the rest from there. Thanks Red

In VB 5 and 6 you can do it by using the API function BitBlt.
You can find some excellent tutorials on VbExplorer about BitBlt and many other things about drawing and manipulating bitmaps.

I don't know if these things apply in VB 4 which is much different from the other two so i would recommend you to move to VB 5 or 6.

However check the site's tutorials.They will help you.

Voodoo4

Edited by - Voodoo4 on July 18, 2000 12:31:16 PM

I used the BltBit function in VB3, you just have to have the correct API reference copied to your VB app.

If I can find the code I used (it''s in a mag somewhere) I''ll post it here for you

Ah... VB... my specialty.

You will have to use all the APIs to draw to the screen/desktop. GetDC(0) and ReleaseDC(0, hDesktopDC) are the functions you want to use to get the DC to the desktop. VB controls like PictureBoxes and Forms also have DCs.