• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Best Educatioyn for a Job in Game Development

This topic is 5236 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am currently a Virginia Tech student, a junior. I was wondering what would be better for me to get a job in game programming. I am visiting seattle this week and went to DigiPen and did their tour and wasn't as impressed as I thought I would be. Does anyone know what the actual job community thinks about this school. Would it be wise to go to DigiPen to get my masters or try to stay at Virginia Tech to get my masters? [edited by - Thors1982 on January 12, 2004 2:41:46 PM]

Advertisement
Pick a few game dev companies.

Write to their hiring staff, asking how they''d rank each of University, College, FullSail, DigiPen, game dev experience, other computer dev. experience, game (or graphics, or AI, or other area of specialty) demo.

If you get responses, create a report... post it here... bug a moderator until they make it part of a forum or site FAQ.

While some large companies may have seen enough graduates from DigiPen or FullSail to know if they are typically a good hire. Most game development houses will likely have had no, or very little, exposure to these graduates. They''re probably looked at similar to a college degree. The degree, coupled with a demo, shows you know something, and are interested in games. You will likely need something very special about your game to get noticed, just like everyone else applying.

But this is just my opinion... I don''t have anything to do with hiring.

The most important thing to know about game programming, for the CS student interested in a job in game development, is that it''s still programming...