• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

mreiland

multi-threading in a game engine: experiences please

This topic is 5426 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm currently a programmer involved in the the 0AD project(http://wildfiregames.com/0ad/). We have been discussing whether the engine should be multi-threaded or not, and I'm just curious what other people's experiences have been. Threading mouse movements, etc., isn't a big deal, and helps with the responsiveness of the app, but we're contemplating threading more of the engine. To be specific, we'd like to thread the AI calculations(among other things), but we're worried about not having control over the timing. Has anyone else implemented threads extensively in your games? If so, what was threaded, and what problems did you run into? How did you solve them? :: Edit :: The platform we are targeting is the PC(Windows and Linux) Thank You, Michael Reiland [edited by - mreiland on January 11, 2004 3:45:12 PM] [edited by - mreiland on January 11, 2004 5:04:14 PM]

Advertisement
In my games, the sound and input is threaded from the main thread. The only problems I''ve ever had have been with thread priorities, which were causing issues with the sound.

These problems were on PS2, and were only apparent when streaming sounds off of CDROM.

I dont know what platform your project is on, but our threads use the PS1 processor on the PS2 so the threads aren''t limited to the one processor. However, as I said above, this isn''t without it''s issues. If it''s done properly then its definately worthwhile.

Hope this is helpful.

I have never used threading in a game before, but there certainly are areas where it can be very usefull.