• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

playing 2 sound files at once

This topic is 5156 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have a problem here...I''m using directshow to play media files but when I tried to play 2 media files (I tried using audio files) it didn''y play those two files and only play the one that been loaded first.... Is there any way to solve my problem and I want to use directshow.....

Advertisement
Well zacharya,
As far as I know( Even i am new to the world of DX ), only one media file can be played over a primary segment and many ( I dont know how much exactly ) media files over a secondary segment. This is the case when two or more media files are to be played.

I want to use for background music and sound effect which need at least playing two audio files at once.

Like he said, you have to play it as a secondary segment.

Use DMUS_SEGF_SECONDARY.. also, try to search the forums first. I''m learning directinput and stuff right now as well, and this is probably the single most frequently asked question on the topic and has been answered countless times.

the answer is: you have to sample your media files into one file/object to get played at run time, say I have music constantly on, but when I click my mouse button to shoot, it samples my gun shot into the music thereby giving the appearence of two files at once.

Or there may be a way around that, I would look into all the DirectX audio functions to see if there is one that will suit your needs.

EDIT: beat me to it iron-monkey

[edited by - tri-thanatos on January 13, 2004 12:15:47 PM]