• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Windows.h gives me errors with enumerated types [ SOLVED ]

This topic is 5241 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I'm relatively new to C++ so there is probably something simple I overlooked or that I don't know. I am working on my Pacman game, and am plugging in certain classes I have designed before. I had programmed a Log class that records events to a text file, which helps me track down errors quickly. In the Log.h file I have this declaration: enum EVENT_TYPE { ERROR, MISC, CONSTRUCTOR, DECONSTRUCTOR }; I also programmed a FrameRate class which I can use for my games. It deals with timing, calculates the FPS, holds delta-time, which I can use for framerate-independent movement. In FrameRate.h I did: #include <windows.h> so I could use the GetTickCount() function to calculate the time of current and last frame. The problem arises when I add both my Log class and FrameRate class to my game. I get the following errors: error C2059: syntax error : 'constant' error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before '}' error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before '}' error C2065: 'CONSTRUCTOR' : undeclared identifier error C2065: 'MISC' : undeclared identifier error C2065: 'DECONSTRUCTOR' : undeclared identifier error C2059: syntax error : 'constant' error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before '}' error C2143: syntax error : missing ';' before '}' The syntax errors are on the line with the ENUM declaration. If I comment out the windows.h include, I get no errors. Is there a conflict between something in windows.h and my enum? I have tried changing the enum name but that did nothing. Again, it's probably something simple I overlooked but thanks for your help [edited by - sanguineraven on January 14, 2004 11:10:13 AM] [edited by - sanguinerave