Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Jacob84

Desperate - IDE problems or just stupid developer?

Hi everybody: Please, let''s see if somebody can help me, because I''m really sad . I''m developing a 2D strategy game, directly with the MFC''s. In the graphic aspect it''s so simple. I have now almost 600 lines of code, and a bit complicated classes diagram. I have two years C++ experience only, but just a little in windows''s programming. What I''m trying to make, and where I''m stucked, is in creating a CAllocator class , that keeps updated pointers to the most important objects in the program. One instance of this class will be global. Let''s see the problem: This is the Alocator.h #pragma once #include "base.h" class CAllocator { public: CAllocator() { c = NULL; } CCuad *c; }; extern CAllocator *global; In base.h there is included the "CCuad.h" , and all .h files have #pragma once on the top. But when I try to compile I get messages , saying that the compiler can''t access to CCuad object. I can''t understand it... In the main file, I have also the CAllocator *global pointer (wich is extern) and global = new CAllocator(); I get also "extrange" messages. Please, somebody help me !!! :D I don''t know what to do... ?J@cob

Better avoiding global instances, as it is a bad style of programming.

What i suggest is to make your class a singleton.

To do it simple, try something like that

class CAllocator
{
protected:
CAllocator () //Users cannot create instances
{
m_pAllocatorInstance = null;
}

public:
CAllocator *GetInstance ()
{
if ( ! m_pAllocatorInstance )
{
m_pAllocatorInstance = new CAllocator();

//TODO: Allocate your variables as a constructor
m_pQuad = new CCuad();

}

return m_pAllocatorInstance;
}

private:
CAllocator *m_pAllocatorInstance;
CCuand *m_pCuad;
};

This is the simplest way of creating a singleton, and it guarantee that you''ll have only one instance of your class.

Espero que haya sido util.

Cybird