Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

O_O123

Is 18 too old to be starting?

Yes I know another age topic O_O sorry I'm 18 and just wondering if 18 is too old to be starting game development. I know some guys 13-15 talking about things I don't even have a clue O_O And making awesome games and stuff. Anyway I'm in my first year of college taking up computer programming. I'm learning VB6 and Java at school and probably deal with that C++ thing whenever I'm ready O_O. [edited by - O_O123 on January 17, 2004 2:34:48 PM]

Nah, it isn't a problem. I started at a young age, but my dad started at 40, and he's doing fine. Actually, at an older age, you comprehend things quicker (according to statistics). Which means, as long as you're not too stupid (;\) you should catch on pretty quick. Besides, at 18, well... its not too old... Anyway... for starters, click here. Pretty nice asp that allows for html in posts... ANYWAY! Gotta get back to work...

EDIT:: Oh yeah, I was kind of jealous of those 8-year-old C++ ppl... I started javascript when I was 9 and C++ at 11... I kind of felt bad, but as long as one doesn't get too "green with envy" (PS: What's up with that? Why is envy associated with green? I like green... meanies...), then you'll be alright.
Another thing: those who start younger usually also quit younger, as I have seen. They're usually not really into it, just influenced by parents, but some REALLY have the knack, and its nice to work with THEM sometimes, as, well, its usually a big learning experience. Good luck, fellow brethren of the compiler.

EDIT2:: Turn that frown up-side-down!
PS: I only have a minor 10-percent ADD. So be nice!

[edited by - jtmerchant on January 17, 2004 2:49:31 PM]

[edited by - jtmerchant on January 17, 2004 2:53:38 PM]