Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Help with Cg

This topic is 5048 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Yeah so I'm a definatly a CG newbie. I'm having some difficulties getting the compiliation to work with DX9 - here's the Cg code - it's fairly simple. ------------------------------------------------------------- struct OutParms { float4 position : POSITION; float4 color : COLOR; }; OutParms main(float2 position : POSITION) { OutParms OUT; OUT.position = float4(position, 0, 1); OUT.color = float4(1, 0, 1, 1); // RGBA green return OUT; } ------------------------------------------------------------- Now I compile this using the command line Cg compiler using the profile settings of vs_1_1 and get ------------------------------------------------------------- vs.1.1 // DX8 Vertex shader generated by NVIDIA Cg compiler // cgc version 1.1.0003, build date Jul 7 2003 11:55:19 // command line args: -entry main -profile vs_1_1 // nv30vp backend compiling 'main' program def c1, 1, 0, 1, 1 def c0, 0, 1, 0, 0 //vendor NVIDIA Corporation //version 1.0.02 //profile vs_1_1 //program main //var float2 position : $vin.POSITION : POSITION : 0 : 1 //var float4 position : $vout.POSITION : POSITION : -1 : 1 //var float4 color : $vout.COLOR : COLOR : -1 : 1 //const c[1] = 1 0 1 1 //const c[0] = 0 1 0 0 mov oPos.xy, v0.xyyy mov oPos.zw, c0.yyxy mov oD0, c1 // 3 instructions // 0 temp registers // End of program ---------------------------------------------------------- Which again is pretty simple. The problem is we're trying to copy the contents of v0, which doesnt look like it has been initialized into oPos. The internal D3DXAssembleShaderFromFile function of course fails and returns an error saying attempting to read from un-initialized variables. I added the line dcl_position v0 Above the mov commands, and I a