Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Need advice from Game/Mod Developers.

This topic is 5040 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I need some advice for a project that I am working on. I am an experienced programmer but a newbie in Game/Mod programming. I have a stand-alone application, reading some Hardware sensors from an external port (Serial Por, MIDI port, USB). The value from theses sensors is then translated into a simple floating-point value changing from 0 to 1. Now using this value I would like to interact with different kinds of properties (like the size, the color or the position) of an object in a 3D scene. I would like to use a 3D engine to do that. I took a look at Quake and Unreal because they are open platforms to develop and I would like to take advantage of their rendering, scripting and map editing capabilities. Any other platform will be welcome. Where should I start ? 1- Is Quake more simple then Unreal to program ? 2- Should I write a MOD or can just Scripting do the Job ? 3- How do I pass information from one application to a game system ? 3.A. – Can I use a socket to pass information from one process to the another. 3.B. – Can I directly read an external port inside the Game environment or are there restriction ? 4- Can I easily link object properties to my values. I realize that Game/MOD programming is very complexe, ANY information will be welcome.

I don''t think commercial engines are the way to go for you. Simply because they''re undocumented, hard to understand and even harder to modify. They''re just not made for what you need here.