• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Biorobic

Game Programming Gems

This topic is 5318 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

on my search on amazon for a new game programming book, i found "Game Programming Gems". I heard only good stuff about this book - i was surprised to see more than 4 different books with that title. Now my question: are Game Programming Gems 2 and 3 only updated books of "Game Programming Gems 1" ? I dont think so... and im not new to programming or game programming (im no pro though) - which of these books casn you recommend me?` another book im interested in is 3D Game Engine Design by David H. Eberly. I read there''s a lot of math covered - im not afraid of tthis, but please post your oppinions if you had read the book. bio

Advertisement
Game Programming Gems
Game Programming Gems 2
Game Programming Gems 3
Game Programming Gems 4

These are all completely different books. The are collections
of different articles.

Also check out:

AI Game Programming Wisdom
AI Game Programming Wisdom 2

Kami no Itte ga ore ni zettai naru!

They are all good. 2''s not as good as 1 and 3 but it is still worth getting. I learnt more stuff from those books than any other. I think it''s becuase it doesn''t spend 3/4 of the book explaining about "How math works" like most books do. I still need to get 4, but when I last checked it out they were still working on it. That was a while ago so it''s probably out by now. I would recomend these to anyone. They cover a wide are of topics and they cut to the chase.

-UltimaX-
Ariel Productions

"You wished for a white christmas... Now go shovel your wishes!"

I own GPG 1, 2 and 3, and they''re all really good - i''d recommend them to anyone. GPG 1 is probably the best, since it tends to be some more original stuff.

quote: