• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Jower

Changing colors

This topic is 5391 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I´m making a 2D-game in DX9 and I need to be able to change a color to another (like red to blue for example) for team colors. This should be really simple but I just CAN´T find a way to do it. Anyone got some ideas ?

Advertisement
I'm no expert on the matter, but if your textures are pretty uniform, you can load them, reading them as RGB values, then do a conversion to HLS mode (hue, luminosity, saturation) and add a set value to the hue, convert back to RGB, and then use them. This would only have to be done once when the texture is loaded, so it can save you space and not bog down the system. This is also a good method to allow the user to customize colors :D

hope that helps,

*Cosmic*

p.s. anybody can feel free to shut me up if i'm totally wrong about this subject

[edited by - Cosmic One on February 27, 2004 1:45:32 PM]

That sounds like it´d only change the color once (?). Kinda the whole point in changing it at runtime is to use one file for multiple colors.

There are several ways of doing this, and I have fiddled with almost all of them in multiplayer games before.

1) Use palettes: This requires utilizing a particular graphics format that supports palettes. Change the palette according to which team a player is on. Pretty self-explanatory. Easiest solution.

2) Diffuse colors: Probably not recommended, as it will tint the whole image. However, if you draw something separate (like a flag or something) this would be work.