• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Buzz1982

Any one worked on parallel polygon rendering?

This topic is 5319 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi, is someone out there who has worked on parallel polygon rendering on a cluster. I am thinking of working on creating a software framework that allows the programmers to just describe the scene or world and then the entire scene can be rendered by dividing the primitives on different nodes of the cluster in realtime(atleast 10 to 15 frames/sec). I am a computer science student & i m thinking on working on this for my final year project. I m familiar with graphics programming but havent worked with parallel programming. Although i am studying papers on parallel rendering & about sorting classifications, i still want some sort of guidance on this from someone who has worked on this before. thanx bye

Advertisement
hmm, interesting, but I don''t know how you can avoid passing back stuff like depth+color buffers. Which is going to be a lot of memory copying.

When you pass stuff through the NIC, you gotta copy a lot of times. .. I am not sure if it''ll be worth it.

Yeah, I''m not sure if it''s worth it in real time, but there have to be some benefits to using GPUs in parrellel rendering movie style rendering. I think there are some papers out there detailing this kind of rendering for realtime scenes, but you''ll have to google them.

ngill,