Obj* Create()
	{
		printf("Creating the class complete@!!!\n");
		return new T;
		//return 0;

}

protected:

};
stops me compiling in vc6 when i got use it like: ObjReg regReg("chat"); the error says: f:\siphongl\engine\objmgr.h(61) : error C2259: 'Chat' : cannot instantiate abstract class due to following members: f:\siphongl\engine\objmgr.h(59) : while compiling class-template member function 'class Obj *__thiscall ObjReg::Create(void)' clicking on the error points to the line "return new T;" it works compiles fine on linux, so im guessing its a vc6 issue, would be nice to find a fix for it tho, or some alternative :-/ the idea of the tempalte is to register a class, and provide a method to create an instance of the class for my network code. [edited by - supagu on February 28, 2004 6:44:20 AM]
Advertisement
I don't know what T is, and I'm no template professional, but I assume the correct syntax would be

template < typename T > class ...

Victor Nicollet, INT13 game programmer

[edited by - ToohrVyk on February 28, 2004 6:36:10 AM]
fixed the source brackets ;p
i did some more testing

//ALSO DOESNT WORKObj Create()	{		printf("Creating the class complete@!!!\n");		return T;		//return 0;	}//WORKS, but its not a pointer :-/Obj& Create()	{		printf("Creating the class complete@!!!\n");		return T;		//return 0;	}
Whenever you use a template, you must specify the data type for the template to use. Lets assum you want to store characters in your template class, you could do that with the code.

NOTE: / = greater than sign      \ = less than signObjReg /char\ regReg("chat");    

I would suggest rewritting your code tho. Right now the template class inherits from a non-template base class, which defeats the whole point of templates. You should rewrite your code so that the template classes only inherits from other template classes.

[edited by - Onemind on February 28, 2004 8:45:33 PM]
i had to inherit from a base so i could keep a list of them,