Changing a scene object's color on the fly

Started by
1 comment, last by Spk 20 years, 1 month ago
Hi ! I''m currently writting a 3D chess game, and this is my first time using D3D. In my application, the user is able to select a chess piece through the 3D view. Ive got the picking code working fine, and now I would like to give the user a hint about what he has selected. I want to do this by drawing the selected model with a green color layer over it. In OpenGL I would do this in a very simple way, by calling glColor3f(green) just before drawing the selected object''s triangles. That would cause my object to appear with a green color all over it. However, in D3D, it doesn''t seem to be as easy. My scene supports lighting and material color : the black chess pieces have a black color material, and the white ones have a white color material. But I think I went the wrong way, and should have used per-vertex color instead of using materials for the pieces colors. Now my question is : how do I dynamically change the color an object in my scene ? I''ve done some researchs, and found a couple of possible ways to explore : use per-vertex color by changing the .color component of each single vertex of my object''s vertexbuffer, or use a shader. The first method looked like to be the easiest to implement. However, I''m limited by my engine''s design : I''m using only one vertexbuffer per model (pawn, bishop, etc) to save ressources, and changing the the vertex colors of one model would make all the other pieces using the same model also appear green, which is not what I want. Using a vertex shader sounded too complicated for something which seemed to be so trivial to do in OpenGL. So does anybody have any ideas/hints/solutions to my problem? I hope i''ve been clear enough Thanks in advance.
Advertisement
1) Change the material color when drawing the selected object.
or
2) Set TFactor, change TextureStageState cascade.
or
3) Add a "selected" texture.
or