• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

SavX

What should I learn first? Visual basic? Or straight onto C++?

This topic is 5314 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I''m 15 and new to computer programming. When I''m older I want to get into computer programmer and eventually game design/programming. But where to start? So many different languages, I just don''t know what to do first. As I have had no experience in programming at all, should I start with something simple like Visual Basic? Or go straight onto the most used language C++ and learn that because it''ll be more usefull? Any tips would be great, thanks : ) SavX

Advertisement
well, i don''t have too many other core programming languages under my belt, by Stroustrup (C++''s creator) recommends not learning C before C++ if you are a rock-bottom beginner. In other words, feel free to cut to the chase and learn C++ now.

Yo, im 15, i skipped vb, i hate vb, and so do my friends that have tried it... dont use it, if you wanted t odo something easy, id use QBASIC to learn programming logic, thought it may come easy for you (it did for me) visual basic doesnt do much in that way for you... id either do QBASIC or C++ depending on how smart you think you are... if your an abstract thinker, go straight to c++, if you need a compiler i can help yah there also... just search for "Dev-C++" or "Bloodshed Dev-C++" also you may find it useful to take a class at your local community college (4 dollars for 4 units if your a highschool student booyah!) hope that helped
-Dan

VB isn''t the step under C++, it''s an entirely different language which only serves as method of stalling the inevitable if all you''re planning on doing is learning C++.

If you want to learn C++, just do it. Otherwise you''re wasting your time.

MindEngine Development