• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Jam3

Visual Studio C++ .NET, looking for game book, need advice

This topic is 5225 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok i have finished my com sci degree after going back to college. I have been a MSSQL dba for many years(since 94) and have plenty of VB experience. I have recently finished the MS step by step C++ book and after my college C programming I feel my fundamentals are sound enough to start my adventures into my true calling, game programming. I am looking for advice on where to start. I want to learn the fundamentals of turn based programming then move on to 3d and rts styles. What books would everyone here recommend? My tool of choice is VS .NET C++.

Advertisement
addendum: I am looking for something that will show me the basics front to back even if its for checkers or something. Including creating loader screen, save game files, replay sequences (game film files), basic AI, etc. I am obviously not averse to using MS technologies, ala directx.

[edited by - jam3 on March 1, 2004 3:21:00 AM]

All the things you mentioned( loader screen, save game files,basic AI) can be done easily if you gave it some thought.

For saving game, you need to know how to write to a file which you should know if you have done programming.

Basic AI, no standard way of doing AI, but usually state based where a NPC has a current state and reacts to events based on his current state.

To get started you need a graphics API, you could try OpenGL if you dont like MS tech. Just download the Free RedBook from the resources link above and get started. Or if you want something simpler, perhaps Allegro/SDL.

Guest Anonymous Poster