• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

picklejuice

where did you guys pick up all this stuff?

This topic is 5373 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

where did you guys learn all this, independant study or school? (if so, where exactly?) I''m trying to learn maths more on you guys'' level, but there doesn''t seem to be a learning curve here so I assume you guys got this in college?

Advertisement
almost all of my math (calculus ab/bc & multi-variable calc) and physics i got in high school. Linear algebra i''ve self taught myself as it became necessary for 3D programming.

coding i largely learned in high school and college and self-taught a lot of the more advanced c/c++ && openGL/DirectX stuff. My first couple of jobs in the internet BOOM were largely responsible for refining my coding skills by forcing me to work on large projects and give lots of thought to architecture/code organization and extensibility.

most of my game specific knowledge was self taught by taking on the exercise of writing a game engine & multiplayer code for a 1st/3rd person game that never got off the ground but made a solid demo. as with the coding above, my game industry job has been largely responsible for helping to organize my thinking for my game coding.

so in summary: education -> self-learning -> on the job training, with the latter 2 intermingling in the end. i still read a lot of literature and teach myself things all the time while the jobbo continues to force more learning down my throat

-me

I''m talking about programming, but it applies to anything.

One thing at a time. If you''re good, two things at a time. :-)
It didn''t happen overnight, happend over time, honest.

Books, books, books.

And it never stops, keep on learning.