• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Game Programming Careers

This topic is 5099 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ive been programming for about 2-3 years now, im fairly good at C++ and other languages. I do want to pursue a career in games programming but im just not good at maths, it just doesnt come easy to me if i were to even learn somthing simple id have to sit for hours trying to understand.. So my question is, what kind of careers in games programming dont require alot of maths? And what should i improve on and do to increase my chances of a carreer in games programming? Because otherwise im stuck programming things i can allready do!. Regards Ash. [edited by - ACAC on March 6, 2004 7:01:23 AM]

Advertisement
hmm.. so you probably want to stay away from graphics and physics. i dont know how common it is do some hardcore sound effects for which you better know the theory of it inside out. but the overall architecture, scripting systems and a few other things should be quite possible without a lot of math.

i guess one approach would be to check site like gamasutra for job offers and see what they need/expect.

Guest Anonymous Poster
You could probably do some tools work or GUI work. Maybe AI if you''ve got the knack of it. Lack of math skills will really cripple your ability in the graphics end -- unfortunately this will cripple your chance of getting an eye-catching demo.

I''d shoot for AI myself. There is always a shortage of good AI programmers.

AI is pretty maths intensive if you do anything more then production or expert systems.
Buy a decent maths book and get better ;-)

In the industry an end product speaks volumes, start off with attainable goals and demos, and delve into the maths as appropriate.