• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ZadrraS

New to programming, can't find any tuts to start my own game.

This topic is 5339 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi, im quite new to programming, i have enough knowladge on borland C++ to make a text based HumanVSHuman Tick-Tack-Toe or a very simple text RPG. I Would like to learn more, but i can''t find any tutorials or anything. Most of them are for more experienced programmers. The first normal game i would like to make would be tetris (or anything VERY simple(2D)) and im ready to learn ANYTHING i need to make it. Could you people give me some links to tutorials, any help would be great. I know that with the knowladge i have i can''t just read a little and make a game. Like ive said im ready to learn anything i need before making a game. Just that i can''t find any tutorials on how to do 2D, or something that i need before i can even start thinking about making 2D games/stuff. Theres just no things like "Everything you need to make a 2D game for complete beginners". Thanks.

Advertisement
Learn an API like SDL or Allegro which will provide you will all the tools you need to do 2D graphics, I''m not sure if these provide Borland libs but I''m sure there''s a program floating around on the net to convert MSVC++ .libs to Borland, can''t remember the name or link though

Read the sticky thread in the Beginners forum: " Tetris clone in an hour with C++". That one might get you started...

- Gom Jabbar

Yeah, sorry. Ive posted and only then started looking around. Ive red some of the tetris clone tut (still reading/writting) but theres stuff i don''t understand. Ok, i understand (for example):
"const int TILERED=3;" or

"void GameDone(); " or

" struct Piece {
int size[4][4];
int x;
int y;};"