Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

HarryC

Some "how-to" questions about LUA

A battle in my game takes place in a separate battle screen (away from the game world) and will be much like the D&D type games where a group of monsters battle against the group of players. I have selected Lua as my scripting language to control my monsters. This is my first time using Lua and I have some questions that I cannot find answers to via google. Each monster type (eg. orc warrior or orc healer) in my game will have a Lua script created to control it during battle. I understand how to create this script file and run it from C code. What I don''t quite understand is how to have these individual scripts running for each monster (probably in their own thread). Each creature will make decisions based upon what the other monsters in the battle are doing, so they can''t operate in isolation. Each usable object and spell in my game will also have its own Lua script. This script is meant to override different decision points provided in the template for each monster. What I can''t figure out is how to "merge" the item AI into the monster AI. I think an example is necessary here, so assume for a second that an orc warrior has the following AI code defined for an action during battle:
     If (winning_battle) {
            keep_fighting();
     } 
     else {
           run_away();
     }

Now assume that the orc has a healing potion. I would like this to modify the current script running for the orc such that a check is now done to see if the orc should heal himself before running away. I don''t want to modify the templates to be aware of all possible objects -- this makes it a nightmare to add a new item. What I''d like to be able to do is create a new item or spell, define the AI for that item/spell, and not have to do anything else. Make sense what I''m asking?