Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

naqvi

Help needed for getting started with 3D engine development

naqvi    100
Dear friends I am new in to game programming so any can any one help me in giving me a direction for getting started with 3D engine development .please give me some links of usefull tutorials which i can read. i''ll be very thankful for your quick answers. Zeeshan --- http://www.shadionline.tk ---

naqvi    100
I have heard that DirectX will be the best option for this task so answer me in this regards.

Zeeshan

--- http://www.shadionline.tk ---

nonpop    122
An extremely useful tip: DON'T START WITH A 3D-ENGINE.
To get started in game development, click on View Forum FAQ above the posts or just click Here.

[edited by - nonpop on March 22, 2004 7:16:05 AM]

naqvi    100
thanx for your help. but i have got a project to make a 3D engine and i have to work on it.

--- http://www.shadionline.tk ---

DeepCover    122
What I did to start learning is to start with a single large room - Four walls and a floor. This is where you will learn how to do your calculations for 3d viewing (move forward, back, mouselook). Once you have that, you can build on it.

ToohrVyk    1595
Your first step would be the choice of a language, preferably one that supports widely distributed 3D APIs (such as C, C++, C#, VB, but not O''Caml for instance).

Then, you have the choice of either directly starting your 3D engine and learning along the way, or learning the language, API, and design the engine before you actually start coding it. As a rule of thumb, if you start an engine without any prior planning or experience, you''re bound to start it over again every month or so because your design is unexpandable and you can''t add the things you want.