Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Fier

Question about updating object on openGL screen.

Fier    122
Hi all, this is first time I post on here and I am new to openGL. Please excuse me if I post something stupid. All the openGL source code and tutorial I''ve encountered so far put the main drawscreen function in a loop, which means the screen is constantly redrawing itself and swap the buffer when it is done. This is how the openGL shows the movement of the objects, similiar to movie. I am wondering if it is possible that just update one particular obejct, say sphere, on the screen instead of the whole openGL screen? So each update would not have to draw the whoel frame over and over again? Any constructive response would be deeply appreciated.

Palidine    1315
i''m sure you could find a way to write directly to the screen, but there''s not point in that. the cost of swapping buffers is about zero. you''re not going to gain anything in your application by finding a way around it. every commercial game on the market re-draws the entire screen every frame.

-me

JTippetts    12950
Especially with modern 3D graphics, where the pixels that compose a scene are so much more dependent upon the spatial relationships of geometry and rendering order than graphics were in 2D. In 2D, you could get away with using update rects to just re-draw the parts of the screen that have changed, erasing the old rectangle and drawing the new. In 3D, there is no convenient way of doing this, and combinations such as depth-buffering + translucent geometry like water surfaces can make the whole effort a god-awful mess. Handling situations like this, assuming you could even find a way, would absolutely destroy framerate.

Golem
Blender--The Gimp--Python--Lua--SDL
Nethack--Crawl--ADOM--Angband--Dungeondweller

Fier    122