Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

what is (HWND) really?

This topic is 4951 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

what is (HWND) really? #ifdef STRICT typedef void *HANDLE; #define DECLARE_HANDLE(name) struct name##__ { int unused; }; typedef struct name##__ *name #else typedef PVOID HANDLE; #define DECLARE_HANDLE(name) typedef HANDLE name #endif typedef HANDLE *PHANDLE; DECLARE_HANDLE (HWND); I have been using HWND hWnd; for 4 years now and I really don''t konw what it is? what''s this -> name##__ *name; struct name##__ { int unused; }; What the hell. (int unused), is not used then why have (int unused) in there? Is HWND an int,pointer,const char* ? A pointer to a (struct) with one (var) thats not used? You have to have HWND why? if windows does not use (int unused) what does it use then? the pointer to nothing?

It''s a 32 bit sized variable that you can''t do anything with except pass to windows functions. Treat it as an opaque type; don''t try to understand what goes on inside it. The OS knows what it is, and that''s good enough. I love Big Brother.

It''s a handle that manifests itself as either a pointer to a struct or a pointer to void. It doesn''t so much matter, as Windows handles it consistently internally. While the struct member is unused if present (as its name indicates), what IS used is the address to which the pointer points. What this means is that the HWND, as a pointer, doesn''t really point to anything; it...

Oh man, I just got dumped for prom. If I''m feeling like it, maybe I''ll add on to this later. Hope you can glean some useful info from the above.

Later,
ZE.

//email me.//zealouselixir software.//msdn.//n00biez.//
miscellaneous links