Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

scpedicini

Question about game logic loop.

I'm fairly new to SDL/game programming. Anyway, I wrote a scrolling star field with variable speed stars to help me understand timing and game loops. I've been using SDL_GetTicks(). My game loop looks like this:
while(RunGame) {

HandleEvents(MainEvent);
	GameLogic();
	Render();
}
Here is my star struct:

struct Star {
	int x, y;
	int size;
	int update_time;
	int last_time_recorded;
} Stars[LARGE_STAR_MAX];
GameLogic() just checks to see if current_time - Star.last_time_recorded >= Star[i].update_time and if this is the case, then increment the stars x position by 1 pixel and Star[i].last_time_recorded = current_time This system seems to work pretty well. The framerate can be really high, but star movement stays pretty constant. Render contains:
void Render()
{
	SDL_FillRect(Screen, NULL, 0x00000000);

for(int i=0; i<LARGE_STAR_MAX; i++) {
		DrawStar(Stars[i].size, Stars[i].x, Stars[i].y, 1);
	}

SDL_Flip(Screen);

}
DrawStar just uses pixel arrays and puts them to screen using the sample putpixel method that was included in the SDL documentation. Anyway, I've noticed that even if a Star has an update_time of 1 ms, it definitely does not move 1000 pixels in 1 second. I was wondering if there was any way to speed up my loop. Is SDL_FillRect slow? Should I be erasing the screen in a different manner? Thanks for any help about this, Shaun [edited by - scpedicini on March 29, 2004 1:25:17 AM] [edited by - scpedicini on March 29, 2004 8:59:54 AM] [edited by - scpedicini on March 29, 2004 9:01:19 AM]

Alrighty then.

Well, anyway I figured out why I wasn''t getting a very good
framerate. Part of the reason is that I was running in
Windowed mode, but the main problem was that I wasn''t converting