Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Cygnus_X

Java and Sql on the Web

Ok, I''ve resisted posting for some time now.... but I''m out of options and I could use some help. My background is in Visual Basic, but I''m trying to write a text-based MMO and it seems that useing Java and Sql (which isn''t exactally up my ally) would be most pratical. The problem is, I''ve concluded that I''m going to have to let users manipulate a database on a server (there is simply too much data to handle otherwise)...... and I don''t know how to do that. I''m familiar with Java''s JDBC commands where you can call a database and even modify it, but I can''t imagine that working for what I''m trying to do. Its almost like you''d have to let users obtain an FTP connection or something of the like.... I know java has the whole sockets thing where you can connect to a port, but does anyone have a good tutorial that deals with this stuff? I''m also interested in building a ''user login'' function where you type in your user name and password, press submit, and you''ll get loged in (I know there has to be open source code out there somewhere for that). Anyways, thanks in advance.

it isn''t a good idea to let users touch the database, as they can (and therefore eventually will) screw it up royally. plus, a database won''t be very fast for handling the entire game.

it would be better to write a server program that the users connect to, and the server can deal with the database (for loading/saving characters, and all that good stuff).