Rotation Help for a real newbie?

Started by
1 comment, last by MECHSidhe 20 years ago
I've got a very specific problem that has been driving me crazy for weeks. I have an object placed at an arbitrary point in 3d space. Its movement is derived from the addition of 3 vectors: its current "forward" vector + an "attraction" vector towards an object + an "avoidance" vector from an object. These vectors are recalculated every timer event and the object moves smoothly around the screen. However, I am at a complete loss for how to rotate the object so that it is always facing the direction it is traveling. I've read everything I could get my hands on about vectors and quaternions and this and that and I just can't make it happen. Specific advice on what I need to do would be appreciated. Thanks. (Remember, I'm completely new to this) [edited by - MECHSidhe on April 4, 2004 10:08:30 PM]
Advertisement