Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

C# and C++ Past, Present, Future :: Software Engineer

This topic is 4998 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I am a C++ programmer with limited experience (design) using C#. From my experience, C#, like Java, is a derivative of C++. However, Microsoft is able to blend C# and C++, getting the best out of the Java design. With the recent settlement between MS and SUN, I think that MS will remain the top desktop software company. Bottomline: C# should surpass Java given that it is in fact platform-independent. I have some basic questions on the C# language. Currently, does a C# application run on a non-Win32/Win64 platform (UNIX, Mac, wireless)? How does C# compare to C++ in terms of object-oriental design (inheritance, template, etc) on a large-scale project? How does C# compare to C++ for client/server applications including various IPC concepts, multithreading, multiple processes, etc? How does C# compare to C++ for processor-intensive applications including games, 3D-render, multimedia, etc? I read some reviews on two books on C# by Jeff Prosise and Charles Petzold. In general, readers find the books GUI-oriented. How good is C# for performance-imperative applications? Thanks, Kuphryn

Currently, does a C# application run on a non-Win32/Win64 platform (UNIX, Mac, wireless)?

Yes. Mono, DotGNU.

How does C# compare to C++ in terms of object-oriental design (inheritance, template, etc) on a large-scale project?

(Templates have nothing to do with object-orientation.) C# is a fully OO language in the vein of Java. All code must exist within the context of a class, even if it is not possible to create instances of that class (eg System.Math).