Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Just Started Programming

This topic is 5002 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi i just started programming in C++ and i cant say i no mutch beside writing console "hello world" programms. but i have quite a history with 3D design using 3d studio max and 3d game studio, i have Microsoft visual C++ 6.0. but Im still in highschool and dont have any money for all the glossie stuff. i have sevral very long tutorials on C++ programing but so far i havent had mutch luck past the "hello world" stage. (The tutorals are way to fast and expect you to no quite a bit about c++ alredy). What i would like to no though is where do i lern real beginner stuff without spending craploads of money. any advice on anything would be great, also any programs you recomend(prefubly free or open source). thanx

well, a good linux distribution has everything you need. Really: compiler, automated programming environemnt, debugger, version control systems, dozens of text editors (take your pick), free libraries for everything, and heck, even a free operating system!

For windows, you might try Dev-C++ from Bloodshed Software. That''s the GNU C Compiler (gcc) ported to windows and wrapped with an IDE.

You can even get free C++ books:
http://mindview.net/Books/

/\ All free. All open source. Good place to start.

C++ is not a beginner language. You''re free to subject yourself to pain, though.

Linux is not a beginner platform. Please, people, stop suggesting it.

I''d recommend you get a grasp on programming, and this free online text, How to Think Like a Computer Scientist [Python version, Java version], is just what you need.

Once you''re comfortable, making the transition to C++ will be a lot easier and more productive.

You''re, of course, free to subject yourself to pain, though.