• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

sKit0idMan

Beginner looking for guidance :P

This topic is 5245 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hiya, im a beginner at well everything.. Ive done some simple VB games in highschool and stuff and i wanna get into some interesting stuff . Summer is approaching and i need a project over the summer.. somethign to do in my free time :D. I would like to get into game modding but i have no idea were to start.. what game, how, what programs i need, ect.. or maybe i''ll get into simple 3d porgramming.. i really dont know.. I would like to get into game modding over anything else though just dont know were to start. So i need some guidance with this :D. Thx alot for any info you can give me.. know any good game modding sites/forums? games to mod? were to start? THX :D

Advertisement
You should probably learn to program another language that will be more closely simulated with scripting languages. So c++. Learn that. Learn a simple graphics api like borland. Make a simple game so you understand how its not event based like vb (well mods are probably event based).

I also forgot to add that i did java aswell and i know it ok.. nothign with games tho.. simple applet and Swing stuff plus all the basics.. Arithmetic, Random Numbers, loops, a bit of database work.. ect. I am familiar with object oriented programming..

So on the C++ level which i know its best for games.. know any good sites/tutorials to start? where do I get c++ anyways ? :S