• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

TheOne1

moving characters in an array

This topic is 5239 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've tried a few different ways to move a character in an array, but now I'm not sure it's possible. For example: X X X X X P O X X O O X X X X X how can I make character P move to the right, replacing the O, and let there be an O where P was? so like: X X X X X O P X X O O X X X X X i've tried incrementing the elements of the array, but it says i need an l-value, and incrementing like: map[1][1] += 2 but it increments the letter to R. is moving the character only possible with position.x, position.y methods, or i guess in other words coordinate methods? not sure, I'm still learning C++ so.... [edited by - TheOne1 on April 10, 2004 5:01:34 PM]

Advertisement
Swapping is probably the best method, as stated above by SiCrane. If you really want to use addition on characters, though, you could try finding the difference between the two target characters and either adding/subtracting a value from the two to be switched, like this:

int difference = 0;
char A = map[x1][y1], B = map[x2][y2];
difference = (A > B) ? (A-B) : (B-A);

if(difference != 0){
if(A < B){
map[x1][y1] += difference;
map[x2][y2] -= difference;
}else{
map[x1][y1] -= difference;
map[x2][y2] += difference;
}
}

As compared to a single swap, which would be on the order of three lines of code:

char temp = map[x1][y1];
map[x1][y1] = map[x2][y2];
map[x2][y2] = temp;

EDIT: fixed code to be more clear

[edited by - MajorShredd on April 10, 2004 5:28:40 PM]

( for swap:: )