• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

swiftd

experience vs. qualifications

This topic is 5159 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, just a question about getting a job in the industry. I am currently studying a Bachelor of Information Technology/Creative Industries, which can be tailored game development. I am primarily interested in programming and the development side of games. I was talking to my cousin, who works as a 3d animator, who has had some experience in the gaming industry, and he said that because it''s such a skill based profession the degree might not be the best idea. As im not really enjoying being at uni, I was wondering if anyone could offer some advice? Should I defer uni for awhile, concentrate on making some mods and games and improving my coding?

Advertisement
quote:
Original post by swiftd
Hey guys, just a question about getting a job in the industry. I am currently studying a Bachelor of Information Technology/Creative Industries, which can be tailored game development. I am primarily interested in programming and the development side of games. I was talking to my cousin, who works as a 3d animator, who has had some experience in the gaming industry, and he said that because it''s such a skill based profession the degree might not be the best idea. As im not really enjoying being at uni, I was wondering if anyone could offer some advice? Should I defer uni for awhile, concentrate on making some mods and games and improving my coding?

Get your degree and work on your game coding, better yet, try get an internship with a game company while at college.

Don''t drop out of school. Perhaps colleges don''t teach you what you need to get into the industry, but if don''t make it in the industry, you can get a job in the business programming sector.