• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

is C# the future for game developers too?

This topic is 5149 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

before you answer with a HELL NO, let me just say a few things. Please dont think i am raised this question to stand on my soapbox and shout at you about the awesomeness of .NET and all that is microsoft. I will admit that i do like .NET, because its a great tool for developing applications, and i just am wondering if it is/could be used for game development as well. I am not a game developer. The farthest i have gone was tinkering around with the half-life engine. I dont know how to program in direct x, or managed direct x for that matter. so i really dont know what i am talking about. anywho, after stumbling upon this forum i must say it raised my curiosity about how the whole .net mumbojumbo could be applied to game development, and a few questions/scenarios began running through my head. So these "what ifs" are meant to answer my stupid questions, nothing more. 1. It seems to me that game development is going the way of dx. With each new release it appears to be gaining popularity over opengl, both with developers and graphics card makers. So a few releases of dx on down the line, ms, wanting to solidify .NET as the platform that all developers should use, drops "unmanaged" dircectx, and hence further directx uses native code. 2. VM allowed java to be used on any platform with the same code, running on a plethora of processors. Is a VM for the GPU that unreasonable? Whereby each GPU has a different VM that would garbage collect and all that jazz on the graphics card''s memory, and, say, manage the directx extensions on the card so the developers dont have to program for each different version of directx. Is that even a problem? 3. I cant thin