• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Worth my time?

This topic is 5063 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I''ve noticed a lot of "basic" languages around lately. I have heard of/seen some flaws (or just good reasons) in VB.net that are making me have concerns about devoting time to learning it. I''d rathr design than code... but it seems one without the other is nothing. I have noticed DarkBasic, PureBasic, BlitzBasic, and RealBasic, which all SOUND vaguly promising (and Rapid Q Basic on a lesser note). I was curious if anyone knew about any of these languages, and perhaps what makes them all unique or "worthwhile". I am not a programmer, so I wouldn''t know, but what looked promising to me is PureBasic, and RealBasic are multi-platform friendly. All of them seem faster, and lighter weight than Visual Basic. Also it seems as if almost all of them are geared toward easily designing games. Some of the examples I have seen look quite good. If any of these ideas are misconceptions, i''d like to know. Also, what are the possibilities of developing an online rpg in one of these languages? Any advice would be appreciated. I don''t want to devote my life to coding, but I do want to know how to produce a somewhat finished product. Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
I don''t like those BASIC languages. They are too English-like. I stick with java/c++/c.

You can develop an online RPG in all languages.

quote:
Original post by Koroljov You can develop an online RPG in all languages.

Well , you can arguably do most anything in almost all modern languages, I ment how viable is it. Would it be worth trying, or would it be a huge uphill battle to make something like that using one of the Basics?

quote:
Original post by C-Junkie
its a huge uphill battle in any language