• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

rob64464

few questions.

This topic is 5302 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I am a noob to C++ so please bite your tongue over these very noob questions! In the games industry what COMPILER do they use? VC++ 6 or VC++ .NET(Just C++ not managed apps)? Also, I am not a total noob to managed DX but I wish to start on DX in C++ now. I am trying to make my games very compatable with Win 98+ therefore does anybody know where I can download the DX6 SDK from? Thanks, Rob

Advertisement
I don''t have hard numbers, but I would guess that the majority of major game developer studios have switched over to MSVC 7.0 or 7.1 by now (.NET 2002 and 2003 respectively). This is just my impression from talking with people; I could have a biased sample space.

You probably don''t need to download the DX6 SDK. Due to the mostly backwards compatible nature of DirectX you can still program for the earlier DX versions using the later SDKs. I''ve done DirectX 7 programming with the DX 8 SDK for example. Either way, you should probably check out msdn.microsoft.com.

Alternately, it might be able to find an old book with a copy of the SDK on it.

AFAIK, Windows 98 supports DX9 as well as the .NET framework, so as long as you don''t need to support Win95, you should be fine.

I don''t want to use .NET. I just want the user to be able to download and play the game without downloading any files. Where can I get the DX6 documentation from?

OK, sorry, you mentioned Managed DX is all.

This Site seems to have the DX6 SDK in various forms, personally 'zipped' seems like the most convenient form to get.

Did the DX6 SDK not ship in a single install file or something?

[edited by - henrym on April 14, 2004 8:26:19 PM]